Public Domain Images

for Use in Multimedia Projects and Web Pages

(Most of the images in these collections are in the public domain.

Though you may not need to ask permission to use them when publishing on the Web for educational purposes,

you still must cite these images unless otherwise notified!

If you see any copyright notices on these pages, read them for further instructions.)


America From the Great Depression to World War II: FSA/OWI 1935-1945 http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/fsowhome.html

American Memory Collection: Library of Congress (click on "Photos and Prints" and check the "Copyright and Restrictions" section for each collection)

http://rs6.loc.gov/ammem/mdbquery.html

American Memory Maps Collection http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html

Art Images for College Teaching http://www.mcad.edu/AICT/index.html

Daguerreotype Portraits and Views 1839-1864 http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/daghtml/daghome.html

Department of Agriculture Image Gallery http://www.ars.usda.gov/is/graphics/photos/index.html

Department of the Interior Photo Resources Library http://www.doi.gov/oirm/photolib/

FreeFoto.com http://www.freefoto.com/

*Graphic Maps.com http://www.graphicmaps.com/clipart.htm

Images of American Political History http://teachpol.tcnj.edu/amer_pol_hist/

Internet Moving Images Archive (read Conditions of Use) http://www.archive.org/movies/

Metropolitan Museum of Art http://www.metmuseum.org/home.asp

(Please read copyright info on http://www.metmuseum.org/copyright.htm)

NARA's (National Archives and Records Administration) NAIL Search http://www.nara.gov/cgi-bin/starfinder/0?path=images.txt&id=demo&pass=&OK=OK

NASA Image Exchange http://nix.nasa.gov/

NASA Multimedia Gallery http://www.nasa.gov/gallery/index.html

NASA Photo Archive http://www.nasa.gov/gallery/photo/index.html

NASA's Planetary Photojournal http://photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/

National Library of Medicine: Images from the History of Medicine http://wwwihm.nlm.nih.gov/

NOAA Photo Library (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/

*Pics4Learning (A great collection of donated photos!) http://pics4learning.com/

Picturing the Century: 100 Years of Photography http://www.nara.gov/exhall/picturing_the_century/home.html

Selected Civil War Photographs http://rs6.loc.gov/ammem/cwphome.html

US Air Force Link: Photos and Art http://www.af.mil/photos/

US Fish and Wildlife Services Images http://pictures.fws.gov/

US Geological Service Photographic Library http://www.usgs.gov/fact-sheets/photographic-library/photographic-library.html

US Navy Images http://www.history.navy.mil/branches/org11-2.htm

USDA Historical Photos http://www.usda.gov/oc/photo/histfeat.htm


Clip Art/Image Generators

Action Links Clip Art http://www.action-links.com/clip/misc/index.htm

Animation Factory http://www.animfactory.com/dailygif/today.html

Barry's ClipArt Server http://www.barrysclipart.com/

ClipArt Connection http://www.clipartconnection.com/

*Cool Archive (Mrs. V's favorite!) http://coolarchive.com

Cool Finder: Free Graphics http://www.coolfinder.com/free/graphics.htm

Cool Text http://cooltext.com

*Discovery School Clip Art Gallery (great for teachers!) http://school.discovery.com/clipart/

Free Science Clip Art http://users.ids.net/~jkinnie/clip/cliparch.htm

GoGraphics http://www.gograph.com/

(Site states "For personal purposes, you may use the images found on GOgraph’s website and include a limited number of those image(s) on a personal, non-commercial website.)

Pixel Place.com http://www.pixelplace.com/

Science-Related Clip Art http://www.clipartguide.com/clipart_science.shtml

*Web Clip Art (About.com) http://webclipart.miningco.com/internet/webclipart/

More Clip Art

Searching for images

Fair Use Guidelines and Permission Template

Back to Virtual Library